Yesterday I had my Saturday morning weigh-in following a week of eating all whole foods. The scale showed a 4.4 lb improvement. Seriously. This is what I’m talking about, folks. I did not track calories AT ALL this week and I did not make any other kind of changes to my routine. Isn’t that kind of amazing? I was super excited and it gave me just the encouragement I needed to make a bigger commitment to the whole foods/clean eating plan.

I tried out a couple of recipes this week from Skinnytaste.com. Her healthy chicken nuggets were a huge hit with my husband, both of my daughters and myself. We loved them. I never want to buy them the frozen, bagged nuggets again. These were healthier, less expensive and delicious. Also, as was suggested in the recipe, I used the leftover breadcrumb mixture on some zucchini I got at the farmers market and had awesome zucchini sticks.

We also tried Gina, skinnytastes author’s, buttermilk blueberry cake. I made a few substitutions to make it a little more “whole food friendly” such as by using whole wheat pastry flour instead of white cake flour. It didn’t come out quite as light and pretty as her picture, but it was really good anyway and slightly healthier. I still need more blueberry recipes as I have a TON of blueberries in my kitchen and even more awaiting me to pick outside.

How am I making it work eating whole foods on such a very small budget? Well, for one, I am eating in season. This is something I have read before and also that my sister-in-law, a nutritionist, has mentioned. It makes a big difference when you eat fruits and vegetables that are in season, prices are so much lower. It is a great idea to stock up on these things and freeze them to have during other seasons when the prices will shoot up. In particular, I do this with zucchini, one of my favorite veggies. I am also staying within my tiny budget by keeping my shopping list small. I know that sounds obvious, but I am totally guilty of, in my weight watchers days, trying to keep so many different fruits and vegetables in the house that inevitably something goes bad and I have to throw it away. I can honestly tell you that I have not thrown away ANY produce in the last two weeks and that makes me super happy. And finally, I’m staying within my budget by not shopping all in one location. I’ve been mixing it up between Aldi, Food Lion, Target and the local Farmers Market. I keep an eye on which stores carry which items for less and shop accordingly.

One last helpful tip for eating whole foods is to know where to buy your bread. It is hard finding bread that has 5 ingredients or less. Heck, it’s hard finding bread that has a list of ingredients that can even be understood. My saving grace here is Great Harvest Bread Co. Whole wheat flour, water, yeast, salt, honey. That is what you will find in their Honey Whole Wheat bread and it is delicious. At a little over $5 a loaf it is kind of pricey but the slices are big and I usually only use one at a time. Plus, I use my Attractions coupon book and it has a coupon for BOGO loaves. I’ve been asking my friends to trade coupons with me for this one and so far I’ve gotten two. I’ve heard they can also make buns with this dough but I haven’t looked into that yet.

My goal for this week is to continue eating whole foods/ eating clean. Also, my kids won’t be around as much this week so I would like to take advantage of that alone time to do some exercising that I don’t normally do, such as biking and maybe some yoga. Right now I’m feeling great and I hope that you are too. Here’s to a healthy me and you!

